On Music

My dad, who is a fan of jazz, is a big influence for my taste in music.

We have so much high fidelity audio equipment in this house. We have so many cassettes, CDs, and vinyls. My very small PS4 game collection has been pushed further and further down the shelf to make room for more CDs. I don't even know what we have. I know we have 'Green Dolphin Street' because I saw it on the shelf and it stuck in my mind because my first thought was "Isn't that a JoJo reference?". I am sure there are many more JoJo references in my home. Hell, drinking water is a JoJo reference.

During high school, most of my friends became fans of K-Pop. I distinctly remember going to karaoke with them and feeling excluded because I couldn't sing along. They would also watch music videos together during lunch, leaving the video on loop to give them more views. They would exchange photocards and albums to help each other complete their collection. I guess they were K-Pop stans, in the sense that they were dedicated fans and not in the Twitter way.

I didn't really like to talk about the music I like, even to my friends. One part of me wants to say that this is because I’m embarrassed; what if they think I'm uncool for liking the Minecraft soundtrack?

But as I grew older, I cared less and less about what other people think of me.

Life's too short to give a crap about what other people think about your personal taste. Everyone has opinions but the only one that really matters is your own.

If someone thinks less of me because I like the Minecraft soundtrack then that person is probably not worth being friends with. If they are so judgemental about such a trivial thing then they're probably not a very good person. The Halo Effect is real (it's not the one with Master Chief).