On Flying Spaceships

In a distance system, a lone ship stands out against the smoldering star. That's me.

More than 1,000 light years away, aliens are invading human settlements. The player community are encouraged to contribute to the war effort, by means of combat, materials, and transport, in exchange for credit bonds.

(BTW when i open the game, it shows my ship in a hanger that's burning. The announcement system tells me that the station is in red alert. But i ignore it because i am so, so far away from that mess.)

I am on an expedition to harvest rare raw materials from crystalline growths.

I am currently in the HIP 36601 system, onboard a Drake-class fleet carrier owned by a friend. I boarded the fleet carrier in the Sosong system, which is now 1,500 light years away. There are many other fleet carriers parked in this system.

With a jump range of 500 light years, the fleet carrier was able to cover this distance in just 3 jumps; it would have taken me 1,500/33 = ~45 jumps. The fleet carrier can also store up to 40 ships in its hanger; it provides convenience in exchange for high starting (5 billion credits) and weekly upkeep (starting at 5 million, goes up to 30 million) costs.

We are planning to visit at least 3 more systems in our excursion. The materials we collect will go towards specialty upgrades & modifications for our ships.

The sheer scale of the world is almost incomprehensible. It is a 1:1 scale simulation of the Milky Way. You can even visit our system, Sol. I want to plug in my VR headset and just drift in a far away system.

I also want to visit a system under invasion. I want to see the player and NPC ships rush around, fighting off aliens. I don't actually want to fight the aliens since my ship doesn't have guns (I peeled them all off, since it is an exploration ship), but maybe sometime in the future, I will have more credits and be able to afford and outfit a nice combat ship.